Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

thinking of buying a 2000 A6

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2009, 06:26 PM
1st Gear
Default thinking of buying a 2000 A6 or 2001 A4

hi everyone,

i am in the market for a car and have been looking at an 2000 A6 quattro with 92k (asking $7800). i believe its the 2.8L engine.

the seller told me he has changed the rear brakes and the front ones probably need to be changed. other then that, he claims to have had no problems.

is there anything i should look out for? i heard that the timing belt and water pump should be changed around the 100k mark or so?

im a noob when it comes to cars especially audis

any help would be greatly appreciated.

EDIT: there is also a 2001 A4 quattro 2.8L with 72k miles for a little bit more too (asking $8900). which would you guys recommend?

thanks in advance!

Last edited by blazin-asian; 02-26-2009 at 01:39 PM.
Old 02-25-2009, 06:56 PM
3rd Gear

Older Audis, like women past a certain age, may need a lot of unexpected fixing up and cosmetic work. You're looking at $1000-1500 for the complete timing belt job and it needs to be done soon if you are at 92k. You should also get the vehicle inspected by someone who knows Audis because suspension or transmission (or engine) work will cost you dearly. There's a reason the owner is selling or traded it.

Drive both the A4 and the A6. There is a noticeable interior and trunk size difference. Don't expect explosive performance from either. Gas mileage on the A4 may be a little better because it is 300-400 lbs lighter.

Caveat emptor. You're looking at 8-9 year old cars.

Old 02-25-2009, 07:32 PM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by ppgoal