Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.

Vag com 3.11 and cable?

  #1  
Old 01-01-2008, 04:00 AM
1st Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Default Vag com 3.11 and cable?

Does vag com 3.11 have the ability toadjust/corectTBA(throttle body adjustments)?? What version would you recomend?

Also I understand that a person should buy the license version through Ross tech about ($100) and buy the cable there also as some people are having problems with the ones on ebay

Any one out thathas had experience with purchasingcable and software versionsand can direct me where to get the best price for vag com? What $$ can I expect to pay to purchase software and cable to use on my 04 A6 2.7t?

Anyone live in Boise Idaho or close by that would help and dovag comfor small favor/fee?

Many Thanks to all you Audi owners for tips and Advice!!!!
 
  #2  
Old 01-01-2008, 11:14 AM
3rd Gear
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Newfields NH
Posts: 2,371
Default RE: Vag com 3.11 and cable?

Read the descriptions on the ROSS-TECH site - they tell you what the different versions will do.

Ebay and 3.11 is good for reading codes -

If you want more -I would suggest doing it right and spending the money for the "Good Stuff"
Spend $30 K on a car and skimp on diagnostic stuff?
It dosen't pay to go Cheep on an AUDI.
 
  #3  
Old 01-01-2008, 01:07 PM
1st Gear
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 256
Default RE: Vag com 3.11 and cable?

I run 3.11 and it does everything I want it to. I say go ahead and get the 3.11 and you will be happy with it.
 
  #4  
Old 01-01-2008, 03:06 PM
1st Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Default RE: Vag com 3.11 and cable?

Thanks MiniSpdRcr.

Did you buy the interface cable and full software versionRoss Tech?

At ross tech you can register the 3.11 version for $99 but they do not sell the interface cable alone(only interface with software for $239,$249 USB.

Have you or anyone out there purchased a interface cable some where elsethat works with vag com 3.11? If so where?

Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 01-01-2008, 03:09 PM
1st Gear
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 256
Default RE: Vag com 3.11 and cable?

I purchased a laptop with the software on it. And he said the cable is from E-bay...but it works on mine and it worked on his 00 2.7T and his 01 A4 1.8T.
 
  #6  
Old 01-01-2008, 03:47 PM
Jeffla's Avatar
3rd Gear
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,569
Default RE: Vag com 3.11 and cable?

I use a generic ebay cable and 3.11. It does everything I want it to do. I believe it will have no problem doing throttle body adjustments. I use mine for throttle body adaptations, clearing/checking codes, monitoring crap. I have not found something it can't do that I need. Setting up the cable can be a pain your first time. I use Vista and mine didn't work out of the box.

Jeff
 
  #7  
Old 01-01-2008, 07:05 PM
1st Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Default RE: Vag com 3.11 and cable?

Jeff, Thanks for the info

I think I will go ahead and get compatible cable from ebay and download freeware version of Vagcom to comfirm it will work.Then I candetermine to buy full version of Vagcom at $90.

Whats the difference between the Vagcomversions 3.11 and 4.09? Is it release dates, as one is newer than the other? Which works best?

Thanks
 
  #8  
Old 01-01-2008, 07:20 PM
Jeffla's Avatar
3rd Gear
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,569
Default RE: Vag com 3.11 and cable?

I never really found any difference between 3.11 and 4.09. At least none that mattered to me.
 
  #9  
Old 01-01-2008, 07:21 PM
1st Gear
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 256
Default RE: Vag com 3.11 and cable?

I too would like to know this...but I know that I use 3.11 with no problem
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
shuggy81
B6 Models
2
06-19-2013 12:38 PM
POWERTRIP
Interior/Electrical/Stereo
1
09-28-2012 01:40 PM
HulkB5
Want to Buy
0
08-03-2010 11:34 PM
1.8TK3MP
Engine/Performance Parts
1
02-21-2008 09:50 PM
Semper VW
General Tech
1
01-09-2008 10:06 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Vag com 3.11 and cable?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.