Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Water pump replacement

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2009, 05:09 PM
Default Water pump replacement

I'm thinking about taking on this job. The dealer just quoted $1750 to do the work, plus replace the timing belt.

I'm a complete noob to working on this car. I understand that it's best to do the TB at the same time. If you were in my shoes (i.e., no money since 4 of my 5 kids are in college ) how would you tackle the work. I've read that a good parts supplier is BLAUparts and it would probably be a good idea to get a Bentley manual. How much time should I estimate for the job?

Any and all step-by-step advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Old 09-11-2009, 01:57 AM
3rd Gear

It would help to specify what trim/engine/year car you have, so that folks around can give you A-rated advice for that particular model. Otherwise you may get B-rated BS advice from people such as myself who drive a C4 non-turbo, non-quattro...

Old 09-11-2009, 02:57 AM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by chefro
... Otherwise you may get B-rated BS advice from people such as myself who drive a C4 non-turbo, non-quattro...
Don't stress it THAT much... your advice is worth every penny they paid for it! The reader need to evaluate the advice to see the worth for thier own car. As long as you do not TRY and give BS advice, keep posting.

Spindrift,

There are many things that will effect the time it takes to do work on this (or any car) how much experiance the mechanic has (in general and on the specific item), how much time is put in each day, what type of facilities and tools you have. Ect. ect..

I think a good mechanic could do a TB in a day or so. It would take me a month or more!

But the more specific you question (ie year engine model ect.) the better the advice.

Old 09-11-2009, 07:43 AM
2nd Gear