Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

what's it worth - '98 A6?

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2009, 01:39 PM
1st Gear
Question what's it worth - '98 A6?

1998 A6 Quattro - silver
2.8l 30v
auto
leather (charcoal)
200k miles on body - 97k on motor (from 2003 VW)

body and interior are both clean and in really good shape. the wheels are curbed/rashed, not in as good of shape as the rest of the body.

new ignition switch, tb, wp, seals, outer cv joint on driver side, brake pads/rotors on all four, spark plugs, fuel filter - all within past year.

needs - outer cv on pass side (have it, just need to do it)

Name:  Copyof100_2618.jpg
Views: 179
Size:  143.5 KB

Old 10-12-2009, 05:08 PM
1st Gear

I don't know if this will help much as I'm new to the US and don't have much of a feel for used car values, but I just bought a '98 A6 Quattro in a private sale in Minnesota.

It's the same model - 2.8 V6 30v with 176K miles on it. Near perfect body, decent wheels, almost new tyres, fairly clean leather interior. Fully loaded. Everything works. I paid 3250.

All the used car dealers I looked at were looking for 4500-5000 for similar or lesser cars, and I talked to a few who had no interest in negotiating on the price - basically told me to look elsewhere.

Now, the previous owner didn't know when the timing belt was last done, he thinks the brakes will wear out soon, and it has the notorious Audi oil leak from the valve cover. All of that could add up to another 2000 dollars.

Hope that gives you an idea of what's out there. Maybe someone with more experience in used Audis will give you a better estimate.

Old 10-12-2009, 05:53 PM
3rd Gear

I'll go with 4500-5500.00

Old 10-13-2009, 04:01 PM
3rd Gear

jeffla shame on you That is way toooooo much !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Not a penny over $2500 - period.

Old 10-13-2009, 04:46 PM
3rd Gear

Originally Posted by NH_USA