B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Doing the Timing Belt, but is that enough?

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2011, 07:51 PM
1st Gear
Post Doing the Timing Belt, but is that enough?

Just bought a 99.5 A4 2wd and figuring out what parts to order. It has 116,xxx miles and after reading threads, I know I should replace the timing belt. No history of this being done. I am not a mechanic, but my first car was another german product, a Mercury Capri in which we rebuilt the motor from crank shaft up, so it looks like the timing belt will take some time, but in my skill set with help of the tutorials. I have decided to buy the enhanced timing belt kit from Blau and am also renting the tools to help with all the seals. The motor is leaking a little oil, but hard to tell excatly from where, so replacing the cam and crank seals will hopefully help.

My question is there is a slight jingling sound coming from the passenger side of the engine, possibly near the rear. I thought it was just a loose heat shield or something, but maybe it could be the timing chain. So tell me, if I am digging into this car, am I smart planning on the timing chain kit in addition to the timing belt kit, and since I am leaking some oil, possibly even the valve cover gasket kit (seeing some oil about 6 inches down on rear of block) Really don't want to overkill, but since my daughter does not have her hands on it yet, I have the time right now and it is not 20 below, it seems like the time to do the job right. Your thoughts and is there a thread or instruction on timing chain tensioner pad and cover replacement?

Also, the spedometer stopped working on the way home from the dealer. It worked last week when I drove it, but then it got very erratic and quit working driving 10 miles home from the dealer. I am assuming the cable, but maybe not?

Old 07-24-2011, 08:47 PM
Tech Guru