B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

HI! new forumer!

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2011, 09:02 PM
1st Gear
Default HI! new forumer!

Heya people. I've just picked up a B5, and quite a nice one, but its a 12v FWD. Not much fun on the performance side. The price was right though (Free) and well maintained. I had to stick a clutch in it, and some shocks which i havent done yet.

I'm a mechanic by trade, so im not worried about working on this thing, but i am eager to avoid getting problem parts and what not. For instance i would like to drop the car about 1.5 - 2 inches, Some stiffer springs and better struts. The pickings are slim for the 12v FWD though, so suggestions would be welcome, suggestions on where to buy as well.

Any suggestions on getting a few more horses would be welcome, I see the normal route with these is to go Supercharger. That may end up the way to go, but i have not been able to find headers or a full exhaust. I know of a guy who can do the exhaust headers back, but would go for a kit just so i can do it myself.

Old 03-08-2011, 09:08 PM
1st Gear

Hello and wellcome to the b5 family and allso if u did not know pain when it comes to cars from now one u will,
So for your susspension i think a vmaxx coil overs are the beste value for the price just google vmaxx an u will find them they are around
600$ and for any other questions don't hessitate to SEARCH the forum before you post a new tread, and allso it would not hurt to invest in a vag-com cable that will save you a lot of time and headaches .
So WELLCOME TO YOUR.WORST NIGHTMARE . Hahaha.
Originally Posted by RandomAudiOwner
Heya people. I've just picked up a B5, and quite a nice one, but its a 12v FWD. Not much fun on the performance side. The price was right though (Free) and well maintained. I had to stick a clutch in it, and some shocks which i havent done yet.