how to reprogram audi FOB - AudiForums.com


B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-27-2009, 10:20 PM
4th Gear
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oswego, Illinois
Posts: 4,153
Default how to reprogram audi FOB

ok so like the title says, i need to reprogram my FOB but heres the catch this is for the 1996 model which had the seperate remote with two buttoms for unlock and lock.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2009, 10:26 PM
pullacowonaski's Avatar
2nd Gear

 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: charlotte nc
Posts: 791
Default

i didnt even know you could
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2009, 10:28 PM
4th Gear
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oswego, Illinois
Posts: 4,153
Default

oh theres definetly a way, i had he directions a while ago but lost them. ive literally spent almost 3 years looking for a new FOB remote. i know FML.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2009, 10:56 PM
pullacowonaski's Avatar
2nd Gear

 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: charlotte nc
Posts: 791
Default

wait are you talking about the flip key or the separate fob
im looking for both right now for you
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2009, 11:28 PM
hiwords's Avatar
5th Gear

 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: noob from NY
Posts: 7,728
Default

scroll down the page, it's call "Keyless Entry Replacement ('96 A4)" on the DIY page, http://www.audiworld.com/tech/elec.html, scroll down and it'll tell you how to do it



edit: sorry guys, i forgot to link the page lol. it's there now though

Last edited by hiwords; 12-28-2009 at 11:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2009, 12:22 AM
4th Gear
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oswego, Illinois
Posts: 4,153
Default

uhh, never mind, right after i made my last post i went to try programming and my brother thinking he knew what hes doing started the car in gear and ran through my garage door in the process and teh remote in my hand got run over. still find me those instructions, for the seperate key FOB, and yes i am in shock so i want those instructions.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2009, 01:43 AM
kevace1's Avatar
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiwords View Post
scroll down the page, it's call "Keyless Entry Replacement ('96 A4)" on the DIY page, scroll down and it'll tell you how to do it
^^^Uhh scroll down where???? what page?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-28-2009, 11:23 AM
4th Gear
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Northern NJ USA
Posts: 4,064
Default

The following instructions are to reprogram your switchblade key fob.

1. Take a spare key and insert it into the ignition. Turn it one click forward.

2. Roll down your window just in case. Step outside the car, and lock the car with a second key.

3. With your second key fob press the unlock button. The lights should flash.

4. Now lock the car with the key fob, and then unlock it.

5. Remove the key from the lock and the key from the ignition, and try it's function
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-28-2009, 11:26 AM
hiwords's Avatar
5th Gear

 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: noob from NY
Posts: 7,728
Default

updated my original post. again i apologize.

crazyhawk, that only works with a switchblade
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-28-2009, 01:51 PM
MartinCieslak1's Avatar
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Quebec
Posts: 247
Default

Here's what i did (for my 2 button seperate remote)

Procedure

1. Switch Ignition ON and leave the key in the ignition.
2. Mechanically lock the vehicle using the Drivers door using a second key.
3. Using the remote control press the Unlock button once, and the horn will sound once.
4. Wait 6 seconds and press the unlock button once to activate the coding
procedure. The remote control will now be programmed.

NOTE : When performing programming on additional remotes the procedure
is the same, except you press the unlock button 2, 3 or 4 times for the
different remote.
For example : If programming 2 remotes press the unlock button twice with
a 1 second interval between each press, repeat for 3 and 4 remotes.

5. Switch Ignition OFF.
6. Remove key from ignition and check for operation.
7. The coding procedure can be repeated up to 4 times for additional remotes.
8. The ignition must be switched OFF between programming each remote
control.



And if your car didn't come originally with a remote, you have to activate it through VAG-COM, or else it won't work.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Key remote won't reprogram jaemako56 B6 Models 0 05-24-2011 10:24 PM
ABS reprogram caliman B5 Models 5 03-05-2011 07:10 PM
Reprogram ECU/TPS with vagcom ? carlv VAG-COM 3 04-26-2008 09:27 AM
How do I reprogram my key? auditt225 Audi TT 7 02-14-2007 02:19 PM
Help me to reprogram my key for A4 bigbird General Tech 1 06-30-2006 02:18 PM


Tags
1996, 1997, 2001, 28, a4, a6, audi, b5, computer, cost, flash, fob, key, remote, reprogram, reprogrammer, reprogramming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 PM.