B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

just a couple of ??

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2009, 06:02 PM
1st Gear
Default just a couple of ??

hey guys, well i got myself a 98 B5, jsut learning about the car really. im a ford trained tech, and this is a whole other ball game. althoug the car isnt much different..

i picked this gem up for a good deal and needs very little. windshield, brakes all around, abs module, and my my air bag light fixed..

im currently working on getting the maintenance items up to snuff.

ive done some searching on the website, im learning a lot about these cars, and im really impressed!

but either ive over looked it, or havent found it yet i dont know..

the big question is how much PSI of boost does this car push, from factory.. whats the max amount of boost it can handle on factory internals. i did read that these can handle up to 400-450 hp on the stock internals. which is pretty impressive!

also i have a hard time understanding this diverter valve deal. i cant remove it, and run a BOV because the MAF is before the diverter valve, and if i run a BOV the air is released to the atmosphere. so air is not returning to the intake side of the compressor, and it will run rich.. that doesnt quite make much sense to me because the MAF is before the diverter valve, how is it supposed to read the air that magically gets to the compressor after it? does the computer assume air gets there between shifts, making it run more rich? because as far as i know, the MAF should only be taking the reading of air flowing pass it, and supply fuel to the amount corresponding to its related factors. so it wouldnt matter if the air was released to the atmosphere or not...

anywho can someone correct me?

Old 02-03-2009, 06:10 PM
3rd Gear

stock psi is 8. a chip will remap that to 12-18 depending on which chip you get. the max you can get out of the little k03 turbo is around 22 psi, and that will drop rapidly over 4500 rpms.