B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

New to Audi!!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2009, 09:31 PM
Default New to Audi!!!

Hello, I am brand new to Audi. Actually, several of my best friends all drive Audi's. One has an A8 S8 and an A6, one has an A4 2.8 and one has an A6 2.8.
Anyway... I am seriously contemplating buying an Audi and I can use some guidance. I have been doing research on this forum which is a very good forum for info!!
Here are the specs of the car. I looked at it and test drove it today...
1998 Audi A4 1.8T Quattro
127K miles, 5 speed
New Stage 2 clutch
Starter was just replaced.
Sunroof was just greased and serviced.
Cross drilled rotors all around
Perrelli Tires with really nice Audi wheels.
Color is a bright metallic red/cranberry color. It is absolutely beautiful.
Body is in beautiful condition except for a nice dent on the passenger rear quarter. It is cosmetic only but its a sold $1000.00 repair.
Car is optioned out with everything except for leather.
Power sunroof
Alarm
Borla Exhaust front to back. The rear as twin Borla tips.
Interior is mint.
Except for the dent in the rear quarter.. it looks like a new car.
The engine bay was in extremely clean condition. It looks better than some 3 year old cars I have seen.
The underside of the car looks brand new. No rust, no issues. Very very clean.

What does the car need?.....
Both corner marker lens are missing. They were stolen while the car was in a parking lot last week.
Check engine light is on because the #3 coil pack needs to be replaced. The car has a miss when you really get on it. Besides that.. it drives like a new car.
I also notice that the brakes pulsed at very low speeds when applied. It almost felt like ABS but it was slower. Besides that .. the car brakes incredible.