B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Opinions?

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2008, 03:42 AM
1st Gear
Default Opinions?

So I'm new to the Audi community, been a fan for a couple years, but could never afford one. I'm looking at (what I think is) a pretty clean 2000 A4 1.8tq with the 5 speed in it. It has 107000 miles on it and has had timing belt, tensioner, tie-rod ends, and brakes all done in the past month or so. It has also been aligned and has new tires (could this be to cover up a suspension issue?). The only problems I've seen are a little bit of blue smoke on start up (less than 1/2 second of it, and had been sitting for quite a long time), and two minor interior issues. The guy is asking 7500 for it, and has been VERY up front with me about everything about it, as well as having almost all records for it. I've checked the carfax report on it, and it looks like it was well taken care of, serviced at a dealership at pretty good intervals, and the rest is clean.

Any opinions? Does it sound fishy to anyone, anything I should check? I'm planning on trying to get an Audi tech to look it over for me, but is there anything I should tell him to pay particular attention to? Thanks for any help.

Old 11-12-2008, 08:25 AM
Administrator

sounds pretty legit to me, except I might try to talk him down a little on the price... though i suppose all the recent work that's been done to the car its pretty fair.

Old 11-12-2008, 09:44 AM
Tech Guru

Sounds good. Does he have receipts to show for the work? The only reason I ask is because if the timing belt and tensioner **** the bed then your looking at $3000 top-end rebuild.

Old 11-12-2008, 09:50 AM
1st Gear

Yeah, he has the paperwork to back up all of his claims for work done. What about the blue smoke. Should that worry me much, or blame that on sitting for a while. I've heard that it could be valve stem seals going.

Old 11-12-2008, 03:37 PM
3rd Gear