B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

prolly a dumb question/exsisting performance

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2008, 07:51 PM
Default prolly a dumb question/exsisting performance

long story short i bought a 00 a4 with a garrett gt30 turbo on it about 2 years ago and it looked like some parts were there at one time(performance parts), the garret turbo blew when somehow the oil line got pinched, i have down graded a little to the gt2871r, but i wanna know is there any easy way to find out if rods were done by the first owner. i really don't want to get into terring down the motor to find out, either way it is prolly not going to be easy. im not the greates mechanic, i love taking things apart but im not very good at putting them back together.

side note: fu***** revo is taking so long to make a stage 3 program for my car, they agreed to make it right before waterfest and at that point the said 1 to 3 weeks, not so bad for a brand new program, it is now sept. 15 and still no answer, from what i got from the place that has my car is that the u.s based hq for revo didn't want to make it so the main hq in europe said ok and still nothing, i havent seen or drove my car since early july, and on top of that everything is paid for. any suggestions?

Old 09-15-2008, 08:05 PM

Theres no easy way to get to th rods to check them out. The pistons cover the top of them and the head is on top of that. YOu have to do everything from the bottom and its not an easy/fast process. CHances are if it had a gt30 the rods were probably done otherwise you would have bent a rod by now if you drove it th way it should have been driven with that turbo. You pretty mucgh definently need rods for the gt30 but you can probably get by without rods for the gt28

Old 09-15-2008, 08:14 PM