B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

SAI, PCV, and passing emissions

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2009, 10:24 AM
1st Gear
Default SAI, PCV, and passing emissions

So, anyone here know if i tear out my PCV system, and put a SAI blockoff plate onto my crackcase, if i will be able to still pass emissions?
This is assuming i put a catch-can on, but i will be venting the crankcase blow-by gas to atmosphere.
But i DO NOT want to have to put the whole fing system back in if i need to take an emissions test.
(for those that dont know, the PCV system recycles semi-burnt hydrocarbons and oil back into your engine - this is a major contributing factor to engine failure - but it makes Greenpeace happy.)

Old 11-03-2009, 03:35 PM
2nd Gear

So you're taking it all off to increase engine longevity and reliability? I'd assume (I have no real knowledge about this) that if you got some software that sets the emmisions tests to pass permanently you'd pass the computer test, but I'd be wary of rolling emissions.

Old 11-03-2009, 04:31 PM
2nd Gear

Not sure about PCV, but you can get the SAI stuff tuned out by Unitronics on a 2001. But it seems you're already chipped, so you might be sorta SOL there.

Old 11-03-2009, 04:36 PM
3rd Gear

you will not pass unless you get the codes tuned out. removing the SAI will throw a CEL and you will not pass readiness.

Old 11-03-2009, 07:21 PM
2nd Gear

it depends on your location, I have no SAI, a highflow cat, and a CEL and I passed.
I am in ontario, all I get is an 2 step idle test no ecu scans. They only noted it on the emissions paper that I had a CEL, I still passed and got my sticker.

Old 11-04-2009, 01:19 PM
1st Gear

Alright, so i am in Colorado, and the only test they run is a tailpipe pollutant test - no computer test, no engine compartment air test.
Here's the link.
http://www.aircarecolorado.com/im240tst.htm