B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Tensioner Chunk?

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2014, 07:28 PM
1st Gear
Default Tensioner Chunk?

To keep it short, I’m a complete newbie with the Audi’s! I picked up a 2001 A4 Quattro with the 2.8 V6 30v DOHC power plant. The records indicate the services have been complete including a timing belt and water pump 18k ago (132k now).

The only problem so far was a leaky valve cover gasket brought on by a broken PCV pipe to the passenger side of the head (I’ve read that’s fairly common). No worries though, I was able to source the parts and R&R’s them Saturday afternoon. The leak problem has been solved but I do have some concerns. While the valve cover was off I found a broken piece of what looked like a corner of a valve tensioner. The valve tensioner itself was completely intact, maybe an old chuck was left from a previous repair? Or is it possible that the fragment could travel from one side of the engine to the other? The oil acting like a sticky pad and the broken chunk following the cam tensioner chain all the way over? I wouldn’t think so but I wanted to check with the experts and see what you all have to say? Appreciate any and all input in advance!

BTW, fun little car to drive! Very nice indeed!!

Old 05-20-2014, 09:32 PM
2nd Gear

The cam chains don't meet anywhere, so that piece definitely came from that side head. As long as both tensioner pads look fine you can assume it's from an old tensioner.

Old 05-20-2014, 09:45 PM
2nd Gear

I'm not sure MadCow. I bought a Passat with that motor and had to swap the motor. A broken pad on the tensioner was the culprit, and since it was on the bottom pad I didn't see it till I got the motor out. See here, it was just gone and in pieces:

Old 05-20-2014, 10:40 PM
2nd Gear