B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Unknown misfire source Please Help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2013, 08:03 PM
1st Gear
Default Unknown misfire source Please Help!

Hello all,

Im a newbie here, I've been a member for almost a year but have never taken the time to post a thread or ask for advice, I typically just browse, mostly due to the fact that I was typically able to solve most of my issues. Also would like to offer my apologies in advance if this topic has already been discussed. I presently own a 97' audi a4 2.8 quattro sohc afc which is my pride and joy aside from this insane misfire which I cannot seem to locate the source of. I recently had the timing belt/water pump kit installed by a local indy shop for around $750, 2 days later on the way to work I noticed a slight stall as i attempted to accelerate off of a busy exit and merge into traffic. I didn't think much of it til the symptoms returned later that day finally causing the check engine light to illuminate. By this time I already had an ignition coil on it's way to RAI motor sports in preparation for a trip as I have encountered these issues previously. The codes were 0300, 304, and 306 i believe, can't recall because I cleared them w/my OBII awaiting the arrival of my coil with confidence. I installed the new prenco unit they had overnighted the next day and the car ran great even at idle for approx 30mins. Since then I have had a new prenco coil installed along w/brand new ngk wires and spark plugs. The codes are now 0300, 302, and 304 with cyl. 2 confirmed with my starter version of ross tech vag com. I am aware I need valve cover gaskets and will be tackling tomorrow more than likely, but on this particular model they do not cause much oil to seep to the sparks since they are not centered like in the dohc models 98'+ right? Also thinking possibly injectors? Any help would be greatly appreciated, will need this vehicle running ASAP, thanks in advance