B6 Models Please discuss all 2002 - 2005 B6 A4 topics here...

I'm a newb

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2008, 09:33 PM
1st Gear
Default I'm a newb

Bought a 03 a4 1.8t Q/tip last Nov. Has 44k. Service lite came on so I did anoil change. Now going to forums and reading about the dreaded sludge........I may need to change againand start with a 50 mile drive with a little seafoam before the change? A little history about me: I spent 2 years in a tech school working on autos. That was 35 years ago. I'm not afaid to tear into them, but I also have better things to do. What if the oil lite comes on and there is engine damage, will Audi cover this? I just got a notice in the mail today, from Audi of Americaabout temp sensor replacement/recall rembersment. They must know that I own one.
I'll stop here...... I have about 3 posts going..........

Old 02-21-2008, 10:36 PM
3rd Gear
Default RE: I'm a newb

IMHO if u've done all the oil changes at the Dealer they must cover all the sludge problems if they occur.

Old 02-22-2008, 04:19 PM
1st Gear

Let me start with one thing at a time. I'm second owner. Lease car. I believe it was Audi serviced (I hope)44k on the clock. I have always done my oil changes. The dash display indicated it was time for service. I changed oil with a 5-30 Hav. brand with a WIX filter that was smaller than the Audi one I took out. Any suggestions on kind of syn oiland weight to use? I'm 150 milesto the closest Audi shop. I can get Castrol, Mobile and if I had the Audi filter number I could cross for a WIX filter. Just need some imput on the kind of oil I should use. As far a maint. schedules from 10k to 5k.When Iwas in the profession it was every 2k using leaded fuel.Spark plugs were good for 10-12k. Enough for this post.
Thanks

Old 02-22-2008, 05:13 PM
3rd Gear

I use Mobil 1 0W40 Synthetic and buy filters from the Dealer, but i've heard Walmart sells them now too.
How do u know u have some sludge problems??? Do u see it???