B6 Models Please discuss all 2002 - 2005 B6 A4 topics here...

REALLY odd heater/coolant issue w/ P codes

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2009, 10:34 PM
1st Gear
Question REALLY odd heater/coolant issue w/ P codes

First off, I realize i'm a newb to the Audi Forums, but i've been a user on BMW forums for years. I've tried doing a search for my exact symptoms, but haven't been able to find one through the various boards you guys have.

This is an 03 A4 w/ the 1.8T. He first started w/ a P code that referred to the coolant temp sensor. I've already double checked and in fact he has the green top sensor. The car has had a tune-up using the proper style plugs, timing belt was replaced before the Audi Recall/Inspection letter was sent, waterpump/fluids flushed (i'm guessing thermostat) and the ECU flash for cold start issues has been done. My problem is the P code is still around, it still shudders on cold mornings, and now the heater/temp guage aren't acting normal.

The biggest and most recent issue is what really threw me off. The 1st few times I drove the vehicle months ago the heater would work like normal, temp guage sat in the middle, but the CEL was on. As of late it's gotten colder here in Boise. Three times ago when I drove it, within the month, the temp guage only climbed to the 1/4 mark, but the heater blew nice and hot.