B6 Models Please discuss all 2002 - 2005 B6 A4 topics here...

Surging under boost

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2008, 08:44 PM
1st Gear
Default Surging under boost

Well, noticed an interesting problem coming home from work today. Under hard acceleration, it feels like my turbo is surging. I can hear it spool up and pull, then I get a kind of raspy noise from under the hood, spool, pull, rasp, spool pull rasp, etc. If I stay out of it and just *mildly* let the turbo do its thing, no surging, its only under hard boost situations. It'd been a while since I did the plugs (BK6RE's) so I did them tonight, no change.

Car is all stock, no mods/chip/etc. Haven't had a chance to look at codes yet, you think those will indicate anything or not so much? I'm kind of new to the whole turbo thing, but logically it would seem like maybe the DV is getting weak? As in it builds boost, overwhelms the DV, recirc's in to the intake, and keeps on repeating?

Amuways, just looking for ideas on where to start troubleshooting. At least the weather's nice so I can drive the project car to work now Thanks!

Car is an '02 A4 1.8T for what its worth... tip/quattro

Old 04-23-2008, 12:00 PM
4th Gear
Default RE: Surging under boost

Sounds like a time when you could use a real vagcom for some data logging.

First off, take the car to autozone and ask them to pull the codes and see what is going on.

Could be anything from worn diverter valve, bad wastegate, vacuum leaks, etc,

How many miles on the car.

Old 04-23-2008, 11:53 PM
1st Gear

Well, talked to a friend at work and he actually has a spare 710N sitting around he bought for his car but ended up with a Forge. I'm going to swap that out tomorrow just for kicks and see where it gets me. If it doesn't fix it, probably going to get a copy of vag-com and see whats going on.
Visual inspection of all vacuum lines / etc. doesn't show anything odd, but who knows.