B7 Models Please discuss all 2005.5 - 2008 B7 A4 topics here...

Buying a 2006 A4, does it have problems?

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2008, 03:25 AM
Default Buying a 2006 A4, does it have problems?

Hey, I am an 18 year old college student and I am looking to update my car so I was thinking about a 2006 Audi A4. Does this car have "first year" problems? are there any huge problems with the car? Since I am a college student I do not want my parents to pay too much for maintenance.

Old 11-12-2008, 10:23 AM
1st Gear
Default woo hoo

Wish my parent's would have bought this for me when I was in college...lucky dog! Anyway, I have a 2006 A4 2.0T M6 and have enjoyed every minute of it. I currently have 75K miles and the only trouble I have had was corrected by a free TSB the dealer performed...my CEL came on, a computer module code was given..I think P0006 if memory serves me correctly...but do not fear..it is a free TSB to fix and no troubles since. Since I have a manual, my mpg is 30 in the city and 35 on the interstate...that's a little higher than what most people with the CVT get...prob more like 28 in the city and 30ish on the interstate. The 2.0 L engine has been in use by VW for a while and they have only made it better by adding the turbo...its quick, nimble and a great ride.

If you like doing maintenance on your car, it's not that difficult if you buy a manual. I will say that it is a german car...and....it will be expensive when things break. For instance...the windshield will cost about $600 to replace....

Now...smaller things like trim and such have always been a weakness for VW/Audi. The plastic coating they spray on all their interior plastic parts will rub off...and some interior components like the latch for the arm rest will break....it just happens...this has happened on every VW/Audi i have owned for the past 15 years.