AudiForums.com

AudiForums.com (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/)
-   B7 Models (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/b7-models-71/)
-   -   Sirius Satellite install 2007 B7 (https://www.audiforums.com/forum/b7-models-71/sirius-satellite-install-2007-b7-176209/)

Toasted Coastie 11-17-2011 12:24 PM

Sirius Satellite install 2007 B7 by a N00B

1 Attachment(s)
So I did a ton of research on this using the search function (good little n00by), and decided that there are more questions than answers in regards to installing a Sirius satellite module into a B7. So in the interest of creating a clean and concise how to, I am going to document installing the module in my 2007.

Background

So while I am new in the realm of all things Audi when it comes to installs/modifications, I am certainly not new at doing them on other vehicles. Previously I had heavily modified a 2000 Toyota Tundra, and documented everything on TundraSolutions.com under the same screen name.
Car

I actually just picked up my B7 on Tuesday night (11/15/2011). It is a 2007 A4QA, and would be what I consider as the base model. There is no Bluetooth, no tire pressure monitoring system and no Nav. The head unit itself is the Audi Symphony as pictured below:

Attachment 31135
As you can see, there is an SAT button, meaning the car is ready to accept a satellite module, and has been wired to do so.

Parts and part numbers

1. Audi Sirius module 8E0-035-593 (notice no letter). I purchased from Europaparts.com for $49.95 and had it shipped next day for an additional $19.09. I have already received this item. It is an OEM Audi part, brand new and sealed.

2. Audiovox XM XMSP Terk Single to Dual Antenna Input Splitter. I purchased this item from Amazon.com for $13.99 (I’m a prime member so I think it may be a different price if you are not). I bought this part because the module has 2 inputs for the antenna, but the 2007 B7 has one antenna output.