B7 Models Please discuss all 2005.5 - 2008 B7 A4 topics here...

Wanting to buy a convertible: A4 vs Saab vs BMW 3-series

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2009, 10:13 AM
1st Gear
Default Wanting to buy a convertible: A4 vs Saab vs BMW 3-series

Hello all, I just registered here as I've been in the mood to buy a convertible. I'm sort of all over the map on what to get, and the A4 is on my list, so I figured I'd register here and get some opinions.

A couple of questions off the bat:
1) Have any of you had experience comparing an A4 to the Saab 9-3 or BMW 3-series convertibles? What would you say are the pros/cons of each? I have no experience with any of these brands (I've owned Lexus, Toyota, Jeep, Ford, Nissan, and Mazda cars/SUVs).

2) I see that there is a B6 model A4 which goes into 2005, as well as a B7 which started in 2005. When looking at ads online, how do I know if a 2005 is a B6 or B7? And are there any advantages with a B6 or is the B7 better in every way?

3) I'm seeing a lot of posts here criticizing the CVT. Is it a generally accepted belief here, then, that I should avoid the CVT? When looking at online ads, how would I know for sure that a car doesn't have CVT (I'm guessing that just because they don't list CVT, doesn't necessarily mean that it doesn't have it)? I saw a post by someone comparing CVT to Quattro, so are all Quattro's non-CVT?

4) I like the newer nose on the A4's, but I guess they just recently put that nose on the convertibles. Is it possible to get an after-market replacement nose for an older A4 and, if so, how much would I be looking at spending for the nose and the cost of someone installing/painting it?

5) How reliable are the A4 convertibles considered to be? How does maintenance cost compare to BMW, Saab, etc.?

I'll be honest, of those three cars, the Audi looks the most "pedestrian" to me, but I like the idea of having AWD here in CT with the Quattro (and even FWD would seem safer than the RWD I'd be getting with a BMW).