Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. let's hear about it here.

Audio newb question

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2007, 11:42 PM
CLX
Zombie Defense Force
Default Audio newb question

All right, I will start off by saying that I did search, and did not find what I'm looking for, and that I'm also a complete newb when it comes to audio stuff. I have 99.5 A4 with a blown rear deck speaker. I'm going to replace both with a matched set, but I was wondering about converting my single din stock Audi Concert radio to the double din one like on the 2001 model. Also, if I did such a conversion, would the B6's dual din fit? The reason I want to stay with a stock Audi head unit is that I don't like how much of a contrast the new aftermarkets have (blue lights all over the place when the rest of the car is red.) I'm not looking to do huge sound upgrades, but any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Old 07-14-2007, 12:09 AM
Default RE: Audio newb question

Actually, there are a lot of aftermarket head units that have all red displays and match our cars perfectly. Clarion and Blaupunkt come to mind. I have a Kenwood headunit that has red buttons and matches great, but the display is blue. I really don't mind the contrast too much as it's not too overwhelming at night.

I'm sure you could get the double DIN Concert II to fit in the dash, but it would require some re-work. You'd have to fabricate a whole new bracket for the radio itself, as well as a new faceplate. Not sure how much room would be left for the climate control, but iguess you could just move that down to where the ashtray and lighter are, and be done with it.

Old 07-14-2007, 09:39 AM
CLX
Zombie Defense Force