Go Back  AudiForums.com > Audi Tech > Electronics
 Need to replace Delta radio with Aftermarket >

Need to replace Delta radio with Aftermarket

Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. let's hear about it here.

Need to replace Delta radio with Aftermarket

  #1  
Old 01-20-2005, 01:17 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default Need to replace Delta radio with Aftermarket

The Delta radio in my '97 cabriolet is starting to crap out and I'd like to replace it with an aftermarket reciever. I've already got the dash trim bezel, but I'm getting conflicting information on what else is available/needed. I see wiring harness adpaters listed on web sites, but I was told elsewhere that they don't exist and I have gotten burned before on my fiance's old saab where they said there was an adapter, but what they sent wasn't close. So anyway, if anyone can point me in the direction of a wiring harness, has an audio wiring diagram or knows if there's an amp I need to bypass, etc. it'd be much apreciated. Thanks in advance.

-Ryan
 
  #2  
Old 01-20-2005, 01:21 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default RE: Need to replace Delta radio with Aftermarket

oh yeah, and what do I need to pull the stock radio out? Is there a tool I need?
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-2005, 12:58 PM
6th Gear
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbs, Ohio
Posts: 10,684
Default RE: Need to replace Delta radio with Aftermarket

There are wiring harness' available for your car. I've bought one before, and I too have the same radio. Yeah you'll need the audi/vw radio removal keys. Ebay sells em.
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-2005, 05:40 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default RE: Need to replace Delta radio with Aftermarket

sounds good, so no amp to worry about? I know there's a stock sub in the rear seat, but I don't know how that's wired up, maybe it just takes a speaker level input instead of line level. Anyone have any knowledge about that?
 
  #5  
Old 01-22-2005, 06:55 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default RE: Need to replace Delta radio with Aftermarket

  #6  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:58 AM
6th Gear
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbs, Ohio
Posts: 10,684
Default RE: Need to replace Delta radio with Aftermarket

If you have the bose system the low level (rca) lines go straight to the amp. If you have a non bose system.. you will have to replace the rear speakers. That is because the low level line goes to the rear speaker (passenger?) which has a built in amp. Then the signal goes to the other side. At any rate they are amplified and run on 2 ohms not standard 4 ohm that an aftermarket radio does.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
lifethrasher
B5 Models
1
11-02-2009 10:00 PM
lifethrasher
B5 Models
2
04-11-2009 07:25 PM
sclivin
B5 Models
3
04-18-2008 09:39 PM
beefski
Audi A6
2
09-21-2005 05:06 PM
beefski
Audi A4
3
09-15-2005 12:36 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Need to replace Delta radio with Aftermarket


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.