General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

01 plate A3 1.8t Pulls to left when driving

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2009, 05:16 AM
Default 01 plate A3 1.8t Pulls to left when driving

All,

Hope you can help. I'm no mechanic.

I bought an 01 A3 1.8T recently.

I had it inspected prior to purchase and was told that there was uneven wear on the front brake pads and that they needed replacing. When i picked the car up I drove it for about 20 miles and it was really hot above both wheel arches and there was a mechanical smell coming from there too.

I reduced the cost to reflect this and had Audi fit the new pads. I asked Audi to have a look to see if anything could have caused the uneven wear and they said that they could see nothing.

I had taken the car straight from purchase to be fixed by Audi so the first time I drove it properly was when I picked it up from them.

The car seems to pull to the left (not when braking just when driving). I've checked the tyres and the pressures are correct and there doesn't seem to be uneven wear on them (they both have a good amount of tread on).

The steering wheel seems to sit slightly to the left when driving straight. If we hid a stretch of road that slopes off to the left then the wheel will turn itself almost half a lock to the left. Additionally when driving straight pulling the wheel to the left is free and easy while pulling to the right is stiff and offers some resistance.

If I set the car straight and release my grip within a few seconds it will drift left.

I took the car back to the seller who check that whether the brakes were sticking on one side which they were not.

They've suggested I check the tracking (which they said they had done already). The seller is now trying to tell me that the car is old and this is to be expected. Basically they've got my money and aren't interested they are telling me there is nothing wrong with the car.