General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

HID Problem

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2006, 05:04 PM
1st Gear
Default HID Problem

I got a 2001 A4 about 6 months ago. It's running H7 high beams, and HID D2S low beams. Right now it has HID OSRAM XENARC #66040 bulbs. They also read 35W and have [E]1 on them, amongst other numbers that seem unimportant. I'm not sure how old the bulbs are, I'm assuming they were 4,300K when put it.

The right lowbeam is out, and i get the lighted warning and tone in my dash that says a headlight is out. I tried moving the bulb from the left lowbeam over to the right and that resulted with the left still lit and the right out. So I know both bulbs are still good, and that something else is wrong...

I'm a newbie here, all I know is what I've read about in these forums. What do I do now? Can I test if it's the ballast? Is it easy to move a ballast from one side to the other to test this? What other things might be wrong? It was working, and then one day it was just out and i was getting beeped at!

I really don't want to take it into a dealership and have them charge me $900 for a new housing or some crap if it's not necissary, but I really don't know what I'm doing here at this point. Any help, greatly appreciated.

Also, this might need to go into another catagory, but if I end up having to fix something serious, or get new bulbs, what would you all recomment as far as upgrades, bulb temps, etc. Should i just keep what I have and fix/replace, or should i upgrade while im stuck fixing this...?

Thanks!
-Matt

Old 05-25-2006, 01:55 AM
4th Gear
Default RE: HID Problem