General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

how much misfire before a clogged catalyst??

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2008, 01:28 AM
2nd Gear
Default how much misfire before a clogged catalyst??

okay.. so you may or may not have seen my threads around this site for boost leaks and such on my 2000 s4 6sp.. well .. i think i have found the culprit for all of my power loss and my whooshing noise. any techs out there with info is greatly appreciated.. a week or two ago i developed a misfire under load, soon after i installed my apr ecu.. i was on my way to a bonfire in the country and was about 45 min from home or so..so i continued on to the party and just drove it lightly.. but it still misfired on occasion or going up a steep grade.. then on the way home the same thing.. misfiring on occasion..so.. anywho.. got up the next day and decided to change out the spark plugs.. im a technician.. and so i didnt post anything about this(or i think not) .. i thought it wasnt a big deal since ive done countless tune ups on audis and vws.. so..did the tune up and found the culprit for the misfire.. the number 2 plug had apparently gotten some moisture in it and there was a carbon tract down the plug where it was missing..so install new plugs and bam.. misfire fixed..but.. it was soon after this that i noticed the whooshing noise on the passenger side, plus the lack of power that i thought i was supposed to have.. so im wondering.. the noise is on the passenger side, which was where the misfire was occuring.. so how long can you have an intermitten misfire occur without damaging the catalyst?? that is what my guess is to my problem.. but im not sure.. .. hrm.. now with other cars that ive worked with.. it could be missing for about and hour and clog the cat.. some cars were driven weeks with a miss and still didnt clog the cat.. so whats the rule of thumb on my s4 with an apr tune??? i had planned to gut the cats anyhow..