Intake, Headers and Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

test pipe error codes

  #1  
Old 04-15-2010, 09:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington
Posts: 43
Default test pipe error codes

I have a 2001 A6 2.8 that i took the cats off of. Basically what i did is make a homemade test pipe.... I just cut the cats off and welded a angled pipe in their place. Put the non fouler trick in place. Basically a test pipe but home made.

With that being said, I keep getting error codes.
Code:
P0170 Fuel trim (bank 1)
P0160 O2 Circuit no activity detected (bank 2, sensor 2)
I have tried various things to fix that like backing the O2 sensor further away from the flow and angling it back but that gave me more codes(pic 1) also tried using one non fouler(pic 2) with no luck.

the passenger side is giving me the P0160, which is the right side(passenger) Pic 3 is just a pic of the setup

Im starting to gather my own opinions but I want everyone's input first...
 
Attached Thumbnails test pipe error codes-img_1613.jpg   test pipe error codes-img_1616.jpg   test pipe error codes-img_1622.jpg  
  #2  
Old 04-16-2010, 10:44 AM
Mike-2ptzero's Avatar
4th Gear
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona area
Posts: 3,274
Default

Are the pictures of just the post cat 02 sensors location?
 

Last edited by Mike-2ptzero; 04-16-2010 at 10:46 AM.
  #3  
Old 04-16-2010, 09:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington
Posts: 43
Default

yea those pictures are of the post cat O2 sensors
 
  #4  
Old 04-19-2010, 11:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington
Posts: 43
Default

anyone got any ideas on why most test pipes out there work without throwin a code but mine doesnt???

Is that fuel trim bank 1 code even related to a converter???
 
  #5  
Old 04-19-2010, 11:44 AM
Mike-2ptzero's Avatar
4th Gear
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona area
Posts: 3,274
Default

No that code is not related ot your test pipes since it is for the precat 02 sensor. You either have a bad 02 sensor or a fueling issue on that side of the motor.

What was the complete code and have you looked at the fuel trim readings to see if they are way off for that side?
 
  #6  
Old 04-21-2010, 11:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington
Posts: 43
Default

Ok im getting a bank one malfunction error... the other one is the exact code.

I havent looked at the fuel trim readings how do i do that?

Also i heard from the dealer that bank 1 is the drivers side.... but i saw that bank one was passenger side on here... which is which?
 
  #7  
Old 04-22-2010, 10:05 AM
Mike-2ptzero's Avatar
4th Gear
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona area
Posts: 3,274
Default

Should be block 032.
 
  #8  
Old 04-23-2010, 10:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington
Posts: 43
Default

can you ellaborate? block 032???
 
  #9  
Old 04-24-2010, 12:20 PM
Mike-2ptzero's Avatar
4th Gear
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona area
Posts: 3,274
Default

They are the fuel adjustment readings, so basically tells you how much fuel the ecu is adding/removing at idle and part throttle based on the 02 sensor readings.
 
  #10  
Old 04-27-2010, 04:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington
Posts: 43
Default

so im assuming i have to have a vag com to test the readings huh?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: test pipe error codes


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.