Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. Almost anything goes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Future Breeding?

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2021, 10:50 AM
Banned
Default Future Breeding?

I am brand new to this hobby. I don’t even have frogs yet. I thoroughly enjoyed creating my first vivarium, and am already planning more.
Before I purchase any frogs, I was wondering what everyone’s thoughts on breeding are. Is it fun, or stressful? Easy to sell froglets, or do you just end up with a million of your own? Is it profitable, or does it end up costing more than you make? Will local exotic pet stores buy them? I’m a web designer, I could set up my own website to sell and ship them, but how much interest is there in the hobby in general?
The only reason I’m asking this early is to kind of gauge how many of each type of frog to buy. I am fully aware that I can’t mix species, and that it takes varying amounts of time for different species to reach breeding age. While my viv is starting up, I have at least a month or so to consider my options. But, if I decide not to breed, I will get all males.
Just curious what the general consensus is. Sorry I have so many questions! I just don’t ever want to end up with eggs or tadpoles that I have to cull, nor do I want an entire house full of frogs.

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Old 09-30-2021, 11:53 AM
1st Gear