Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. Almost anything goes.

Are we alone? *Warning alot of reading*

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2006, 05:39 PM
4th Gear
Default Are we alone? *Warning alot of reading*

Just read on article about Pluto being demoted from the well known 9th planet to a lesser dwarf planet status. I've always had an on and off interest in cosmology and the latest discoveries. So this got me thinking...From the dawn of man and the understanding of earth and its place in our solar system, the question has always be there. Are we alone? I'm by NO means an expert on this subject, just a curious open-minded guy making an educated guess, a theory if you will. In our solar system earth supports life, ok that we know. There are billions (if not more) of galaxies in the universe, and in those galaxies there are trillions (if not more) of solars systems, and in those solar systems there are an infinite number of planets. Now I find it hard to believe of that almost inconceivable number of possibilities, there is only one planet the right size and distance from a sun with all the ingredients in place to support life. The mathematical odds (though nonscientific) support the pro life theory, and that life form MUST follow the basic laws of physics and biology that govern the universe, so nothing like the aliens in the movies. Everyone has there own opinion on this subject, that was my two cents.

Old 08-24-2006, 05:46 PM
2nd Gear
Default RE: Are we alone? *Warning alot of reading*

My question is simply: Does it matter? Even if there is life thats like 9999999999 billion miles away what are the chances of us ever meeting eachother?

Old 08-24-2006, 05:54 PM
4th Gear

No not really, but wouldn't it be cool to know?

Old 08-24-2006, 06:07 PM
18T
4th Gear

No way that we are alone. It is extremely egocentric to believe that this vastness that is the cosmos can only support life in one place.