S Car Model Line Audi S4, Audi S6, and Audi S8..Audi's track-ready touch on each of the popular sedans

Is the Audi S4 the best out there?

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2012, 02:54 AM
1st Gear
Default Is the Audi S4 the best out there?

Hi I'm new to the forms and I am currently trying to decide on what car to get next. Right now I'm looking at an S4 or a BMW 335i. I'm not looking at mercedes because my dad has a cls 550. I love the look of Audi. I'm a daily driver with close to 100 miles a day all freeway. I was looking at the 2010 to present models with the V-6's. I know that German cars have a tendency to have high maintance costs and I'm prepared for that. I also saw that power is about the same for both. My main concern is depreciation values and if the S4 would be the right choice for a daily car. Thanks.

Old 03-04-2012, 09:23 AM
1st Gear

Maintenance cost is usually much less on the Audi, much of it can be done by you or a local shop. The BMW requires maintenance that can only be done at the dealer. Also the S4 is AWD and is a beast in all weather conditions and has much better styling than the new BMW's

Remember you are on an Audi forum, we are bias

Old 03-04-2012, 02:29 PM
1st Gear

Ya I'm in southern california so no real weather conditions. I know that this is more biast towards Audi I just like to get all points of view. My main concern is if this car is built for everyday use. I read that it had a high rev line for the V-8 at 75mph is that the same for this new generation.

Old 03-04-2012, 11:15 PM
1st Gear

I have 1000 mi on mine.....45mi commute....think the car is awesome for commuting...suspension/turning/stereo/quietness/excellent bt/power(genlte when needed and can hit the holes when necessary)...bout the only think i can say negative is the DSG trans can be a bit clunky in really slow stop and go...e.g. <5mph...not horrible, but not like a tq converter trans either....and still better than a mt for commuting...

Old 03-08-2012, 03:07 PM