S Car Model Line Audi S4, Audi S6, and Audi S8..Audi's track-ready touch on each of the popular sedans

Early Signs of Turbo's going out?

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2004, 04:11 AM
1st Gear
Default Early Signs of Turbo's going out?

What are some early indications that your turbo's are headed out. I have a 00 and I have notice that as the RPM's climb the power kinda of dips on its way up. Is this turbo(s) or Y-hose? Im still new to the german world so any help is much appreciated

Old 11-08-2004, 12:54 PM
Default RE: Early Signs of Turbo's going out?

Hmmm. this could be several things. First off, start your car and open the hood. check to see if you can hear any leaks. If you think you hear one, shut off the car and apply soappy water to the suspected area. start up the car again and check under the hood. look for bubbles.

On the shot turbo note. Since you are not the original owner who did you buy it from? How old was he/she? HOw many miles are on the car? These are all factors in turbo wear. Are you hearing any noise coming from your turbos; if so, which side? can you hear strange noises coming froim your engine bay while your driving? If your turbo was going out you would hear a clatter. like dink dink dink dink dink. (say that as fast as you can, see if it sounds like the sound you are hearing from the engine.)

Do you have a boost gauge? This might be worth looking into. Tell me if this helps and PM me with more questions

Old 11-08-2004, 03:15 PM
4th Gear

also white smoke

Old 11-08-2004, 04:01 PM
1st Gear

Ok, Leaks I notice when I have turned the car off, maybe because that is the only time I notice it. I will check and see where that is coming from.