S Car Model Line Audi S4, Audi S6, and Audi S8..Audi's track-ready touch on each of the popular sedans

local with vag-com?

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2007, 01:45 AM
Default local with vag-com?

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to the audi world with a recent purchase of a higher milage s4. I love the car, but of course there are some things I'd like to fix. First off I'd like to fix the keyless. Each key fob works (as in it is putting out a signal) however I can't program them to the car. From what I've gathered there is something in the computer I need to clear out to get these to work. So the point is:
Anyone in the Bay Area (CA) have a vag-com or something that can help me out with this? Or does anyone know of a fix I can do without some a specialized audithing?

Thanks,

Casey

Old 11-06-2007, 07:16 AM
Default RE: local with vag-com?

I found this on the interweb:
http://www.audiworld.com/tech/misc13.shtml
The previous FAQ entry on this item had some mistakes (and it confused the hell out of me) so I decided to make it a bit more user-friendly and add a few tips and pointers.
I'd imagine these directions will work on any A4/S4 with the "switchblade" keys. If you own a TT, A6, or A8 with these keys, try and see if the directions below work, and e-mail me your results.
These directions will allow you to reprogram your remote-control "switchblade" keys to full functionality. The '00 S4 manual claims that if you press the buttons too many times outside the range of the car, the key will deprogram itself. I don't know the reasoning behind this.
You will need BOTH of your "switchblade" keys to reprogram one or both of them.