VAG-COM (*New* section) Need some help with a VAG-COM? Have some good advice to offer others using a VAG-COM?

Why is Vagcom so expensive?

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2006, 09:26 PM
2nd Gear
Default Why is Vagcom so expensive?

Can't you just buy this and download the Vag-com software and it will do the EXACT same thing?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/USB-K...spagenameZWDVW

I am a complete newb when it comes to this but I don't see why the "offcial" vag-com cable would be different than this one, for christs sake it's a cable! How does vagcom justify charging 250 for a cable? From what I read on their site that is really all you are paying for, and you can download the sofware free.

Anyoen used this before, becuase I would love to learn to use it and I am down with saving 230 bucks

Old 11-18-2006, 09:34 PM
Administrator
Default RE: Why is Vagcom so expensive?

its the programmin thats the most expensive part not the connection wires

Old 11-18-2006, 09:35 PM
Site Moderator

The cable is not the expensive part, its the software, and show me where you can download it for free?

Old 11-18-2006, 09:39 PM

Yes, you can buy that and download the software. However, you can only unlock a full install of software to a single PC. If you need to move it to another PC, you have to go through a send-reply process with ross-tech.

On the other hand, the dongle contains the unlock code within it. If I'm not mistaken, that means you can have the free vag software installed on a bunch of machines and whichever one is using the dongle has the full unlocked version.

I hope that made sense, I'm not in the best condition atm.

Old 11-18-2006, 09:42 PM
Site Moderator

The only way you can download vag com software for free is if you do it the highly illegal way, which i probably shouldnt disclose that procedure...

Old 11-18-2006, 09:51 PM
2nd Gear

Right on their website, on the page for orderign the USB cable, it says:

Please Note: