Wheels and Tires Post up threads with questions about wheels and tires for your Audi here

Audi A4 Quattra, new rims/tires and vibration

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2012, 02:47 PM
1st Gear
Default Audi A4 Quattra, new rims/tires and vibration

I bought 4 new aftermarket rims for my A4 quattro, and had the two rear tires replaced. One of the tires had a bulge, and the other was worn to 8/32. The tires a Pirelli P4's. I reminded the salesman it is a quattro and he said that the tires on the same axel needed replaced.

The rims were replaced because they said one of the way bent. The rims have some road rash from the previous owner, so that did not seem far fetched. I am new to quattro, but upon further research Audi says the tires need to be within 4/32 of eachother, so I would guess I did not even really have to replace the other back tire. The new tires are 11/32. The fronts are still 9/32.

THE PROBLEM- Since I replaced the tires and rims the car shakes at 55 mph pretty bad. It also pulls to the right pretty bad. It did not do this before. I took the car back and they rebaklanced the tires. Now it is better, but still shakes at 75 mph and pulls to the right just as bad.

I called AUDI and they suggested it was the aftermarket rims and I should go back to stock. Is that just AUDI being arrogant or is there truth to that? What could be the problem? Alignment?

Old 09-17-2012, 06:00 PM
Former Sponsor

Originally Posted by RYRYFREE
I bought 4 new aftermarket rims for my A4 quattro, and had the two rear tires replaced. One of the tires had a bulge, and the other was worn to 8/32. The tires a Pirelli P4's. I reminded the salesman it is a quattro and he said that the tires on the same axel needed replaced.