AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A6
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Members Parts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceGarageUsed CarsVendor Directory
Search
Welcome to AudiForums.com

Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by Audi USA Parts
Click Here


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-24-2008, 12:54 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 376
Default 99 a6 2.8Q coolant Temp. Sensor

ok so ive got a 99 a6 quattro 2.8 and this happenes every other time when im using the car, the temp guage will be all the way to the left as if its cold and then sometimes when its like this it will after the car is completly normal and running at normal temp, the dial will move about a quarter way up and stay there, then other times it will not move at all, but the car runs just fine and has never had a problem, this has been goin on for a few months now, this happens every other time i use the car, and other times it works just like normal with the dial in the half way mark, how it should be, so im guessing this is the coolant temp sensor, my friends a4 did this too and he replaced it himself, but hes got a 1.8 and i would like to know if anyone knows where this is on the 2.8 and if its hard to get to, if anyone has pics or anything it would help alot.

thanks
  #2  
Old 11-24-2008, 01:37 AM
2nd Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orange County/Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 733
Default

its down under the intake elbow on the pass side @ the rear of the motor, near the throttle body... probably has a green top, or blue or black, i forget

its kind of a pita but with patience, its not that difficult of a job
__________________
Koni sport shocks ~ H&R Race springs ~ Febi control arms

Magnaflow Exhaust ~ K&N panel ~ GIAC ECU w/ Flashloader
  #3  
Old 11-24-2008, 11:03 AM
hxgaser's Avatar
3rd Gear

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,970
Points: 5,940, Level: 49
Points: 5,940, Level: 49 Points: 5,940, Level: 49 Points: 5,940, Level: 49
Level up: 95%, 10 Points needed
Level up: 95% Level up: 95% Level up: 95%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

Here are some pics.

http://www.audiforums.com/forum/members/hxgaser-45299-albums-cts-2-8-atq-110/

When you replace the CTS, make sure the engine is COLD, and loosen the reservoir cap to release the pressure. Retighten the cap and replace the CTS. IF you have small hands, you should be able to replace the sensor just by removing the intake hose and loosening adjacent rubber hoses.
__________________
2004 V70R M66 - Current
2001 A6 Avant - Past
2.8 ATQ, Quattro, Tiptronic
Mods - Was chipped, but not now... Was using K&N, but not now...
Repairs - Too many to list! And you wonder why I still drive an Audi So I don't drive one now.
  #4  
Old 11-24-2008, 11:15 AM
AutoUnionFan's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 1,090
Points: 3,683, Level: 38
Points: 3,683, Level: 38 Points: 3,683, Level: 38 Points: 3,683, Level: 38
Level up: 22%, 117 Points needed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

hand size will be an important factor when replacing the sensor on the 2.8l, my advice would be to place a rag under the sensor to catch any parts you might drop like the u-clip, also make sure you get the old o-ring out of there, good luck
__________________
2001 A4qm 1.8T : spt pkg : xenon : light mods < GIAC flashed / N75J / K&N drop in / A8 bbk / JHM ssts >
  #5  
Old 11-24-2008, 08:03 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 376
Default

ugh god i fear doing projects like this. but thanks for the help, so the first pic on that is of the sensor i know this now, but is it where i have to take the air box off to access it?
  #6  
Old 11-25-2008, 11:44 AM
hxgaser's Avatar
3rd Gear

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,970
Points: 5,940, Level: 49
Points: 5,940, Level: 49 Points: 5,940, Level: 49 Points: 5,940, Level: 49
Level up: 95%, 10 Points needed
Level up: 95% Level up: 95% Level up: 95%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by afstud6900 View Post
ugh god i fear doing projects like this. but thanks for the help, so the first pic on that is of the sensor i know this now, but is it where i have to take the air box off to access it?

You don't have to take the whole air box off. Just the flexible intake runner between the air box and the throttle body. Just loosen two hose clamps and you are done. I also removed a few rubber hoses from plastic clamp on the fire wall to get more space. Really the job did not take more than 20 minutes. Just make sure the car is cold, depressurized, and the cap closed. Also make sure the sensor is seated properly before putting in the clip back on. And be sure to remove the old rubber o-ring and replace with new like AutoUnionFan said.
__________________
2004 V70R M66 - Current
2001 A6 Avant - Past
2.8 ATQ, Quattro, Tiptronic
Mods - Was chipped, but not now... Was using K&N, but not now...
Repairs - Too many to list! And you wonder why I still drive an Audi So I don't drive one now.
  #7  
Old 04-26-2009, 03:10 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location:
Posts: 56
Points: 4,712, Level: 43
Points: 4,712, Level: 43 Points: 4,712, Level: 43 Points: 4,712, Level: 43
Level up: 81%, 38 Points needed
Level up: 81% Level up: 81% Level up: 81%
Daily Activity: 0.6%
Daily Activity: 0.6% Daily Activity: 0.6% Daily Activity: 0.6%
Default

I'm working on this right now and haveing a hell of a time, maybe my hands are two big, ha-ha. this would be alot easier if I could remove air intake elbow, how the hell do you get it off?
  #8  
Old 04-26-2009, 03:27 PM
chefro's Avatar
3rd Gear

 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 1,941
Points: 7,883, Level: 59
Points: 7,883, Level: 59 Points: 7,883, Level: 59 Points: 7,883, Level: 59
Level up: 67%, 67 Points needed
Level up: 67% Level up: 67% Level up: 67%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

My 95 has actually two coolant temp sensors.
One is a switch (3 prongs connector) - located indeed under the air box, and the second one is the actual sensor (two prongs connector), located on the driver side, right by the bleeder.
The switch is much bigger than the sensor.
You may want to check the other one as well.
__________________
'95 12V - 167,400 miles - engine rebuild + ps fluid and ATF change; switched to Mobil1Syn 0W-30 at 158,200; Purchased Dec. 2008 @ 152,100 miles - Presently 182,500 miles
  #9  
Old 02-14-2013, 01:53 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Points: 9, Level: 1
Points: 9, Level: 1 Points: 9, Level: 1 Points: 9, Level: 1
Level up: 17%, 41 Points needed
Level up: 17% Level up: 17% Level up: 17%
Daily Activity: 3.5%
Daily Activity: 3.5% Daily Activity: 3.5% Daily Activity: 3.5%
Default

I have a 99 A6 2.8Q. When i was pulling out retainer clip the top broke off leaving the ends still inside. They are too short to get a hold of and still hold the sensor in to well for me to just pull it out. Any ideals how to get the broken parts out?
Old 02-14-2013, 01:53 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
2000, 28, 99, a6, atq, audi, bleeder, coolant, cts, location, oring, pic, sensor, temp, temperature, valve


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.
Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup