AudiForums.com

Go Back   AudiForums.com > Audi Models > Audi A6
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by Audi USA Parts
Click Here


Welcome to Audi Forums!
Welcome to Audi Forums,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-11-2012, 10:49 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 81
Points: 3,651, Level: 38
Points: 3,651, Level: 38 Points: 3,651, Level: 38 Points: 3,651, Level: 38
Level up: 1%, 149 Points needed
Level up: 1% Level up: 1% Level up: 1%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default transmission compatability for conversion question

Question: Can I replace the automatic transmission in my 2000 A6 / 4.2 with a 5-speed manual from a 2000 A6 / 2.8 ? I know that anything is possible with enough time and money.. My question really is,....is it a bolt on application?
Both units are quattro's

Last edited by jackson101; 02-11-2012 at 11:22 AM.
  #2  
Old 02-11-2012, 12:44 PM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 438
Points: 3,928, Level: 39
Points: 3,928, Level: 39 Points: 3,928, Level: 39 Points: 3,928, Level: 39
Level up: 86%, 22 Points needed
Level up: 86% Level up: 86% Level up: 86%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackson101 View Post
Question: Can I replace the automatic transmission in my 2000 A6 / 4.2 with a 5-speed manual from a 2000 A6 / 2.8 ? I know that anything is possible with enough time and money.. My question really is,....is it a bolt on application?
Both units are quattro's
i think the 6 six speed is a blot on. that being said the electrical and TCM are different.

you will be able to pick up a 6 speed at advance automotive. hes over at audizine he might be able to help you alot more as hes helped lots of 4.2 owners with the conversion.

hes scotty@advanceautomative.

im not too sure of the 5 speed is a bolt on. but i do know lots of people over at audizine have successfully done the conversion.
  #3  
Old 02-12-2012, 11:20 AM
1st Gear
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 81
Points: 3,651, Level: 38
Points: 3,651, Level: 38 Points: 3,651, Level: 38 Points: 3,651, Level: 38
Level up: 1%, 149 Points needed
Level up: 1% Level up: 1% Level up: 1%
Daily Activity: 0%
Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0% Daily Activity: 0%
Default

Yes, after doing some research, I'm sure your right. 6-speed, would be "bolt up", ya,...lot's of work, lot's of parts, wiring modifications,,...etc. But, perhaps worth it.
Old 02-12-2012, 11:20 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
2000, 28, 42, a6, audi, automatic, change, compatibility, convert, manual, needed, replacing, speed, swap, tcm, transmission


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Internet Brands, Inc.
Emails Backup