Audi A3 The Audi A3 offers cutting edge engineering, performance, and luxury in one affordable package.

HELP A3 vs A4

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2007, 05:48 PM
2nd Gear
Default HELP A3 vs A4

Hi all, I am a recent college grad that is interested in either an 2007 A3 2.0 with the sport, cold weather, and open sky packages or an 2006 A4 avant fully loaded with about 8000 miles on it. I kept my scholarship through out college so my parents are going to be paying the majority of the cost. I know what you are thinking an 2006 A4 avant loaded is much more than an A# but I have extended family that can get me one at around 30,000 about the same the local Audi dealer would sell me the A3 as aforementioned. I have just started a great job in Washington DC, but I don’t expect to do too much city driving I will just take the metro into work the majority of the time. I have some things I really like about each and some concerns about each. I really like the way the A3 drives especially with the DSG, how it looks and the gas mileage it gets. I am concerned about the lack of Quattro in the 2.0 model (b/c there is potential that I will get transferred to another office up north in a year or two), the reliability is also a concern I have read some horror stories about some unreliable A3’s, finally I am concerned about the resale value which I have heard is not as good as the A4. In terms of the A4 Avant I like the fact that it will be better equipped, have Quattro, have a better resale value and how it has more room for stuff. But I am concerned about its size when I am driving in the city, how it has worse gas mileage, the lack of DSG and how it won’t be as sporty as an A3. I have to admit I haven’t driven an A4 avant yet but I have to assume it can’t be as sporty as the A3. I would really appreciate any advice/ suggestions you could give me.

Thanks Again!

Old 04-11-2007, 06:59 PM
Default RE: HELP A3 vs A4