Audi A3 The Audi A3 offers cutting edge engineering, performance, and luxury in one affordable package.

New here - A3, project?

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2014, 05:32 PM
1st Gear
Smile New here - A3, project?

Hi! New here, and a recent first time Audi owner.

Figured I would start up a project thread for a couple of reasons. Mainly because I'm new to the detailing/modding scene and I'm hoping with a few tips along the way, I can end up with something I'm really happy with! But also, to keep track of everything I'm doing. I'm looking forward to getting dirty over the summer, and learning some new things. Always loved cars, but never had the knowledge/know-how so I'm starting this year!

Below are the pictures 'as bought'

Audi A3 2.0 T FSI Quattro

Name:  DSC_0248_zps41bc80fb.jpg
Views: 96
Size:  99.6 KB Name:  DSC_0249_zps0b4908d2.jpg
Views: 96
Size:  118.6 KB Name:  DSC_0250_zpsd6bd2885.jpg
Views: 83
Size:  123.3 KB Name:  DSC_0251_zps433b93e7.jpg
Views: 80
Size:  118.6 KB Name:  DSC_0252_zps98b96d18.jpg
Views: 91
Size:  88.5 KB

I was particularly happy with the paintwork, no dents and only one minor scrape but it's not seen unless you go up and look for it. Paid £3200 for it (£4900 - £1700 p/x). Runs great, no problems and sounds great! Though I am coming from a 1.4 Ibiza so..

Anyway things I've got in mind.

Height

I'd like it lowered a tad as the height bugs me a little. H&R springs seem to be popular on here but I'm still undecided whether coilovers would be a better option and to be quite frank, I'm not completely sure of the pros/cons of either.

Chassis

I'm pretty happy with the look of it. I fancy a sportier looking honeycomb/mesh grill, I'll look around for maybe an S3/RS3 styled one. Also the rear bumper annoys me slightly, though of course I have no idea what would fit so need to check this out.

Paintwork