Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2.8L, A6, 2WD AT - Sunroof Drains Unclogging

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2008, 02:10 AM
3rd Gear
Default 2.8L, A6, 2WD AT - Sunroof Drains Unclogging

I'm not too good at composing stuff. On the other hand, I hope this modest write-up will benefit other fellow 1995 A6 2.8L new owners, or others who don't know exactly how to do it for this particular model.
Before I start, I want to thank user "monkeyboy" from AudiWorld.com, whose write-up prompted me to attempt the procedure on my car, although a different model.
Also, as with any other DIY endeavor unsupervised by a professional mechanic/technician/etc, you may be prone to do something wrong. Attempt the procedure at your own risk...

Let's go.
After more than a week of ice, it finally warmed up but the second nice day in a row (post Christmas) brought a terrible rain storm. I went to visit with a good friend in another town, about 1 1/2 hr away. He has a 2005 Jetta. After eating, gaming, etc, he wanted to check out the ride, so we went to the store to buy some instant coffee (his coffee maker went bezerk)...
He wanted to slide the sunroof cover panel forward and noticed it was damp. The next day at home I checked it out, and it was still damp. I remembered saving the article on declogging the drains.
Today (12/30/08) I went to AutoZone and purchased the speedometer cable, as the main tool for the job... an impromptuu pipe-snake ($ 6.99 for the universal kind, exactly the one pictured in monkeyboy's article).
Since his article doesn't contain anything about the front drains, I was expecting I'd have to take out the wheel well lining. As far as the rear drains, he had to take the bumper off, so I was expecting the same thing... Oh well...

Anyway, I started by opening the sunroof. At this point I had no clue what exactly I am doing...LOL