Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'97 A6 Book and Tranny Problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2006, 09:49 PM
1st Gear
Default '97 A6 Book and Tranny Problems

First, I'm looking for a good book/cd set to use to work on my friend's A6 which he recently purchased with 97k miles on it and is having some minor problems (starter so far, and now the water temp sensor is dead, Air bag light is on sometimes, etc). He knows nothing about cars and I know little about AUDI :-( I know there are the Bentley service manuals to purchase on CDROM, but I hate both the idea of a manual that I either need to print constantly, or run inside to my computer 50 times for each job, and paying $90 or so for it. I have found some on eBay for much cheaper, which I know are probably copies etc etc etc[:@], but hey, I'm a college student. Does anyone have any experience with any manuals that they could recommend? or should i bite the bullet and try one from eBay?

Second, recently he started having tranny troubles. Its an auto, and im not exactly sure what model. It seems like in 2nd or 3rd gear the tranny rumbles and shakes. It doesnt grind or vibrate or anything, but it does produce a pretty odd feeling inside the vehicle. From what i can tell, there is no sound associated with the feeling (at least not inside the cabin) it just feels maybe like its slipping or catching on a tooth or something. Any ideas where I can start troubleshooting on this???

I've also been looking at getting one of those vag com setups? any experience with this? audi seems to be so much different than my corolla ... haha

Thanks for all the help i can get

-Ian

Old 02-01-2006, 02:43 PM
Default RE: '97 A6 Book and Tranny Problems

forget the eBay ones they aim at engine problems not transmission, I cant help you but I had the same problem which is why I joined this site and got no answers