Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

To A6 or not...???

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2009, 04:45 PM
Default To A6 or not...???

Noob here, looking at a 2002 A6 3.0 Quattro. It has about 64,000 miles. Unfortunatley, it's not coming from an Audi dealer, but a Chevy dealer. It looks very clean, newer tires.

Any advice? I know little about these cars, except that I like them, and Quattro is a great thing.

What should I look for? Common issues? What about fuel mileage, and chiefly, fuel requirement? Will they run on regular, or is premium an absolute must?

Any help is great!

Old 05-04-2009, 05:01 PM
1st Gear

Color is a huge factor, make sure it is shiny! if not, dont buy. Ya they have some issues. Fuel mileage is better is best if you pour beer in the gas tank first. they require, correct me if im wrong, 3 beers per tank. No they run best on premium draft beer. Blinker fluid is expensive, muffler bearings tend to wear out frequently.. and if you cant bring yourself to search for your own answers, your audi repair bill will be huge. i'd buy it..

Old 05-04-2009, 05:09 PM

Thanks for so little. Must be nice to have the time to waste on such a useless reply.

Old 05-04-2009, 05:38 PM
1st Gear

I would not if I were you LP6000. If you are not a DIYer with a focus in German cars, that purchase could bite you right in the ***. I believe the A6 to be, overall, a reliable car if maintained properly. Certain years are better than others of course. The 2002 model's 3.0 engine is listed as having moderate engine issues. If the A6 you are looking at was well maintained you still have to look at higher cost of miantenance and yes, you should feed it ethanol free premium fuel.