Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Audi ?

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2009, 03:24 AM
Default Audi ?

So, I'm looking at getting an Audi, and was wondering what the "experts" have to say about an '02+ A6 Quattro? I was previously considering an A4, but that didn't happen as I bought a Lincoln Continental instead. Well, time to part with the boat (Lincoln) and get something else. I was looking at a BMW 528i or 540i, but I live in North Dakota and a RWD makes NO sense, even if I do have a Dodge Ram as well. I want something big enough accommodate 4 full grown people occasionally, have plenty of power to get down the interstate, as well as have a little bit of fun.

I'm a recent college graduate so I'm on a tight budget as now I get to pay for all the fun I had over my collegiate career. I want something reliable, comfortable, sporty, and did I mention reliable? There is a limited supply of places to get German cars worked on locally, so my understanding is that parts/labor rates are at a premium.

My question is, what motor do I want? What are common things to look at that might go wrong? Any specific years to avoid? To stay within the price range I can afford, I'm looking at something with 75-100,000 miles on it. No more, and preferably less. Thanks in advance!

Old 05-19-2009, 05:05 AM
3rd Gear

I believe Audi's are generally reliable given regular maintenance. However, when you're looking to buy a used car with 75-100k miles, you don't know how it was treated and could be buying some one else's problems. Normal operating costs are not out of line for a luxury car, but major repairs are frighteningly expensive. Plan on a timing belt (plus water pump, thermostat, tensioners, serpentine) at 80-90k which will set up back $1000 from an indie or $1500+ from a dealer.