Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Car stuttering, CEL light flashing

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2010, 10:46 AM
1st Gear
Question Car stuttering, CEL light flashing

Hello forumers, I'm a newbie and hope you guys are doing great. Well.., yesterday, my 2003 Audi A6 3.0 started stuttering whenever i applied pressure on the gas pedal going above 30miles/hr. I thought I must have bought some bad gas from the gas station, so I got some Lucas and poured into the tank. No improvement. I then went to Autozone and the guy there suggested that there might be some water in the gas tank, so I got some Heet and poured that as well into the tank to drive out the 'water'. BUT as soon as i pulled out of the parking lot, my CEL started blinking.

I took the car to an auto shop, and they found out that there was NO OIL in the engine!! Their diagnosis: NO OIL NOTICEABLE ON THE DIPSTICK. 2.25QUARTS ADDED BUT LEVEL IS STILL LOW. CODE P0305. RECOMMEND MAJOR ENGINE WORK.

Mind you, I did an oil change just three weeks ago, had 6.4quarts of synthetic oil put into the car (at least thats what the service guys claim) but the verdict now is that my engine has no oil in it and is damaged.

The guys who changed my oil say that there could be an oil leak into the cylinders, hence the P0305 code, but would the cylinders hold all 6.4quarts of oil? If they did put 6.4quarts of oil, where did it go to?

What can i do about this situation, friends?

Old 11-08-2010, 01:17 PM
1st Gear

Yikes? And your low oil never registered? Is this a tech you trust?

Old 11-08-2010, 01:39 PM
2nd Gear

Oh my!!!

(P0305 is for misfire)

Somebody with more patience could comment on the cylinder's oil leak...

You have to document everything from now on and get a legal advice and involvement.

Long before the oil gets this low your car has to warn you.