Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The 'confused' window

Old 08-24-2009, 08:58 AM
1st Gear
Default The 'confused' window

OK, first off I'm neither a geek nor a mechanic...

I'm a car owner that just loves to tinker under the hood, under the dash and just about any place I can fit a screwdriver or a socket... lol

Before I go and take off the door panel and make a self determination (aka wild a** guess)... I thought I'd try here. Please forgive if this has already been discussed, but in my search I did not discover it... I'm a newb

Left side (=US driver side) window is confused... If I flip the switch just a little bit, the window rolls down and back up as it should (about 2 inches of open)... If I go past that small amount the window will either go up or down when trying to get it to go back up... If the window is all the way down, when I flip the switch the window will go about 1/2 way up and then automatically go back down... repeat the process as often as necessary... lol

If the window is all the way down I can start it goining up, and then while 'pulling up' on the window and using the control switch I can get the window to go completely up (most the time, sometimes it will overpower me and roll back down*sigh*)...

My question then I guess is... Why is my window confused about which direction it should be going in when I flip the switch to get it to go up and it will try, but then go back down?

Accuator, off track, other... all of these?

Thanks in advance for any feedback 'before' the door panel comes off...

Last edited by 1999A6Quattro; 08-24-2009 at 09:01 AM. Reason: I need a spele cheque program installed
Old 08-24-2009, 09:09 AM
2nd Gear

Your window regulator is broken. The motor senses that there is too much pressure and instead of shattering you window all over your lap it rolls it back down or just stops.