Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help me choose

Old 03-08-2007, 03:17 PM
1st Gear
Default Help me choose

I want to become a member of the Audi family. I desperately want to do so. I've been eyeing up A4s for years now. And now I've got my eye on the A6.[/align][/align]A brief about me - I'm an IT professional and responsible for the systems of a law firm with three office spread out literally 40 miles from each other in a triangle. So it's conceivable that in a day I can do 160+ miles. My normal commute is 80 miles a day.[/align][/align]Anyway, I want something comfortable. Something that can get out of it's own way. Something that won't require an extreme amount of mainenance.[/align][/align]I wanted to go with the A6 because of it's size - both for my family, and for the trunk space for work. I've got a limit of 15K for this car. I'm leary about a high-mileage turbo vehicle. I really wanted a manual tranny, but it's apparent that it won't happen with the 4.2L.[/align][/align]I've been reading about these cars and I've seen both sides. Some people love them. Some people hate them. I can do most work myself. So I'm not too concerned about any maintenance or repairs. I'm just concerned about A LOT of maintenance or repairs.[/align][/align]SO, bottom line - I want an A6 as a daily driver. Bad idea? What should I look for? If I need to be talked out of this, then so be it. And although everyone here is biased, I figure I'd go to the experts.[/align][/align]Thank you!!![/align]

Old 03-08-2007, 03:27 PM
2nd Gear
Default RE: Help me choose

Find a low mileage 2.8 A6. This sounds like your best bet for commuting. They come with all the goodies like the bigger brother versions but with better MPG and less maintenance due to lack of turbos. Make sure you do your homework and buy from someone with all the service records and then go have the car worked over by a INDY.