Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question About 2.7T Driveability

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2007, 02:06 PM
1st Gear
Default Question About 2.7T Driveability

I'm new to this car. First German car and first turbo car. Only had it a week and I want to know if I have problems or if it's just the nature of the beast.

01 2.7T, tip,+88k miles.

1 - When I'm in stop and go traffic, and moving in between say 10-20mph here's what happens. I let off the gas and am rolling at about 10mph. I lightly tap on the gas, and there's a small "tug" and it goes. Like something was resting and then decided to engage. Again, this is not fast acceleration. I let off the gas to coast, then press it lightly, "tug". It doesn't happen from a complete stop with slow acceleration. Nor does it happen over 20mph. Is it supposed to do this?

2 - In the morning when I start up, I hear a low rumble coming from up front. I know some cars need to warm up, but it's averaging 75-80 in the mornings now. Is it safe for me to just drive off?

3 - When winter time gets here (in Chicago), I saw somewhere in the forum that someone said to disconnect something to the turbos and then they don't have to worry about warming them up. Wouldn't that do some type of damage to the turbos? Here when the temps can easily reach -20, wouldn't the turbos seize?

Old 08-10-2007, 03:33 PM
3rd Gear
Default RE: Question About 2.7T Driveability

1 - I don't have the tip, so it may be related to a downshift. Otherwise I would guess it may be turbo lag. What's a "tug"?

2 - No idea about the noise, but it is okay to drive off immediately. Just don't hammer on it until the oil temperature starts to rise from the stop, and preferably wait until it is ~225o.