Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Remove driver's air bag in a '95

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2011, 05:04 PM
1st Gear
Default Remove driver's air bag in a '95

Hey guys, I just got my radio code from a friend of a friend, so I want to fix my steering wheel. (It's loose, rocks up and down). To do that, I have to remove the air bag. How do I do that safely?

I'm guessing disconnect the battery at the least. I've also heard you have to find the air bag control module and disconnect that as well. Where is that? Should I do that or would I be fine anyway?

What are the two screws in the back of the steering wheel? Are they torx? Hex?

Anything else I should know? Thanks!

Old 01-05-2011, 07:42 PM
1st Gear

The screws are hex (5mm????), not sure of the size off the top of my head. As a technician I remove the air bags with the battery connected. The chance of it going off while removing it is so slim as to be non existant. Have the key off of course. Long as you don't apply voltage and ground to the air bag terminals, it can't deploy (a 9 volt battery is all it takes btw). It is a good idea to ground yourself to disipate any static electricty before unplugging the connector (same as when working with any other electrical/electronic device). You MAY have a driver's air bag code set, even if you don;'t turn the key on when it's unhooked. As for the air bag module, it's on the trans tunnel under the front of the console and about innaccessable if you wanted to unplug it. Hope this helps.

Old 01-05-2011, 09:18 PM
1st Gear