Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replaceing only water pump?

Old 11-29-2010, 09:40 PM
1st Gear
Default Replaceing only water pump?

Im a college student and it seems my troublesome 99 2.8l a6 has crapped through another water pump. So im going to do the repair job myself. Problem is with my income I literally cannot afford to replace anything other than just the water pump. Im just a little worried knowing I have to pull of the timing belt. Never done a timing job before so my question is .. Can I simply make markings to put it back in place properly?

Old 11-29-2010, 11:27 PM
2nd Gear

how many miles on your timing belt? You'll need to rent or borrow the timing belt tool since you are taking that off. The real question is, why are you going through water pumps

Old 11-30-2010, 07:23 AM
2nd Gear

You do not need the cam alignment tool to change just the water pump. Mark the timing belt to timing gear relationship on both cams in two places each and on the crank gear. Remove the timing belt, do the water pump job (get something other than a cheap Chinese pump, if you can), replace the belt making sure to line up the marks. Turn the engine over by hand twice and reconfirm the alignment of the marks.

Good luck,

Bob

Old 11-30-2010, 12:58 PM
2nd Gear

College student in what - in engineering or in drama?

Before you undertake this endeavor, make sure you get familiarity with the design, functionality of the mechanisms and the consequences of your actions.
There are many long threads about lost marks-camshaft-crank shaft alignment.
Read first then look at your odds- be sure valves-pistons-crankshaft interaction is clear to you; firing order, TDC...
A simple job like this could easily ruin your car-many proofs on the forum here.
Good luck

Old 11-30-2010, 06:59 PM
AudiForums WilkommenVagen Direktor

Originally Posted by nemohm