Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Service! Warning - what does it mean?

Old 05-07-2008, 06:18 PM
1st Gear
Default Service! Warning - what does it mean?

Let me preface this by saying that I do not have the owners manual to my car (dealer ordered me one but it ain't here yet) and I am an Audi noob, so this might be easily explained.

I was driving my 01 A6 4.2 to Charlotte last weekend and 2 hours into the trip, my message screen starts blinking "2:00h" and would change to 3:00h and so on for every hour that I drove. I didn't really have anywhere to stop and the car was running fine, so I kept going.I got to Charlotte and parked the car overnight. Get up the next morning and theres no CEL and everything seems fine. On the drive home - the same thing happened. Now when I start the car and put it in drive, "Service!" pops up for about 5 seconds on the message screen with "OK"reading above it. Went to Advance Auto Parts to pull the codes - no codes returned. Wtf? Does anybody know what this means?

Old 05-07-2008, 07:28 PM
2nd Gear
Default RE: Service! Warning - what does it mean?

That's just telling you to stop and take a rest... you know you're supposed to stop every 2 hrs on a long trip! It means nothing bad.... just press the reset button and it'll stop blingking 2hours and continue time counting.... Service means just that... your car computer is telling you the car needs to get serviced, the mileage interval since the last reset/service has been reached... how many miles do you have?
No worries..
BTW, let me know next time you stop by CLT, I live in CLT... we might be abel to meet.
Where are you from?

Old 05-07-2008, 08:11 PM
1st Gear