Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thoughts on Detailing

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2009, 12:35 PM
1st Gear
Default Thoughts on Detailing

I have a black '02 2.7T that looks great. I purchased it used and it was in a corp. fleet so when I purchased it 8 months ago it looked almost new on the outside. Since then I have washed it regularly at a touchless car wash (I know...) and can still see a reflection reasonably well off the hood. But winter is coming up here and I want to keep the car looking great.

Since I have owned very cheap cars before this, I have no experience detailing a car. I also don't have a great place to take it to get it detailed, and honestly would love to learn more for myself.

I am looking at a guide over at properautocare.com that uses mostly Menzerna products. Link to guide.

But honestly, I'm not sure I need all of that. Anybody have any GUIDES they suggest. Just telling me what to use isn't going to get me very far. Thanks for your thoughts!

Old 09-22-2009, 12:56 PM
3rd Gear

I can't help you -- I haven't washed a vehicle in years --

I'm a real back to nature guy but not a tree hugger.
If mommy nature puts dirt on my vehicle she can damn well remove it herself.
God invented rain to help her do her chores.

Old 09-22-2009, 01:15 PM
3rd Gear
Old 09-22-2009, 05:25 PM
3rd Gear

I handwash all summer and use a good Mother's or Meguiar's carnuba wax, in the shade. I admit to using a car wash in the winter, but I think salt is worse than minor brush marks. I can remove the brush marks with Meguiar's ScratchX.