Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A6 Avant Parking Brake Problem

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2016, 04:57 PM
1st Gear
Default A6 Avant Parking Brake Problem

Hello everyone, long time owner of Audi, first time I've felt the need to post, but have used here for a long time and it's a valuable resource.

I should add, I am not a mechanic and have limited knowledge

--

My problem is this.

I have an A6 Avant Estate, was going to replace the rear pads (not beyond my capability ..normally) as I'd heard them squealing a little, purchased the pads but it was only after talking to a friend of mine who is an MOT tester and where he stated that without a diagnostic tool and the audi being placed into maintenance mode I would not be able to do the pads, this being due to the handbrake being electric and with the button on the centre console.

He states that I simply would not be able to get the piston back in on the caliper (I think thats what he said)

Phoned Audi to book it in, cant do it for 14 days, so with that I contacted a local(ish) garage that I have used without incident for over 20 years, they primarily fit tyres/exhausts/brakes and minor maintenance on vehicles

Spoke to them, they said they knew what to do and had the appropriate equipment.

Arrived at the alloted time, pads were just starting to score the discs but brakes were functionin ok, no errors on the dash etc...

Ten mins in and they inform me that the pads were the wrong ones, thats Europarts automated 'give them your registration they give you the wrong parts system'......but the garage said they could get some so wouldnt be long, gave them the ok, and sure enough 15 mins later the pads arrive and on they go.

15mins further and I get an update 'just putting things back together, will be a few mins'